Indonesia leaves OPEC

Apparently you have to actually export oil to belong to the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries…

The fact that Indonesia no longer qualifies should concern all of us, since there will be just 12 members left after Indonesia exits at the end of the year. The article mentions production declining while domestic consumption is rising… a perfect example of Jeffrey Brown’s Export Land Model in action. I first saw mention of Indonesia’s problems a few years ago… and now that prediction has come true.

(click on the picture to see the whole thing)

On the same business page, CNN is mentioning that oil prices keep rising even though demand is slackening… while I’ll admit that speculation has helped drive prices to where they are today, I also think it’s getting harder to ignore the fact that something else is going on here as well.

Which reminds me… I need to get a set of grocery bag panniers for my old Schwinn… no point in burning gas for a quick trip to the store anymore.

9 Responses to Indonesia leaves OPEC

  1. d.a. says:

    I use a Chrome messenger bag that actually looks/fits like a backpack. I can get up to three bags of groceries in it. Bought it awhile ago, so I don’t know if it’s any less expensive than panniers, but you might want to give it a looksee. I love mine.

  2. Bart says:

    Thanks for the tip! My current bike already has a Blackburn rack on it, so I was thinking that a decent set of panniers would be the best way to go. I’ll check out the messenger bag option as well.

  3. phaedrus says:

    Given the choice between panniers and a messenger bag for grocery shopping, I’ll take panniers every time.

  4. Dan says:

    I second phaedrus. Why strain your back with a messenger bag when you can load up the panniers and strain your legs instead?

    What panniers are you thinking of? I recommend Arkel’s grocery bag pannier. I got mine from Jim and they’re pretty solid on the bottom. I haven’t seen Banjo Bros grocery pannier, so I can’t speak for it.

  5. Bart says:

    Hi Dan,

    Good to hear from you again. I don’t know how often I would use the panniers, so I’m thinking something like Arkels might be overkill for what I’ll be using them for. I was looking at the Banjo Brothers panniers… I have a seat bag from them and it’s nice. Regardless of which company, I’d probably go for covered ones so I can also use them to commute if I ever decide to go that route.

  6. Dan says:

    Glad to see you’re doing regular posts again, Bart.

    Arkels are spendy and Banjo Bros are probably the better choice, especially if you’re not going to use them tons. The other good thing about Banjo Bros is that they’re local to you and you’re keeping the cash flow in your area.

    I wish we had a bike shop around here that focused on communting and utilitarian riding around here. It seems like the bike shops around here are more focused on the triathlon craze and road bikes for ragbrai.

  7. phaedrus says:

    I’ve got the Arkels on my bike and my fiance has the Banjo brothers Market Pannier (the covered one) on her bike. The Arkels really are almost overkill – they feel nearly more suited to touring than shopping.

    I think you’ll be more happy with the Banjo Brothers. They’re probably not quite as water proof if you’re into shopping during monsoons, but, unlike the Arkel, they can fold flatter when not in use.

    I would definitely go with the Market Pannier though. I’ve also got the Jannd grocery pannier which is similar to the uncovered Banjo Brothers Grocery Pannier and really find the lack of cover to be an issue. There are rain covers but one never seems to have brought them when they’re actually needed.

  8. Bart says:

    Thanks everyone for your opinions…

    *makes note to self that random bike-related material generates more comments than anything else*

  9. Donald says:

    As for the “something else” going on, I think it’s the demand in other countries. Demand in America is slackening, but other countries like China are still gulping it down. Maybe with pedal power and renewable fuel we can keep our economy afloat and stay with the power curve.

Leave a Reply

