My Rice Cooker Hates Me

I can’t cook brown rice to save my life… it *always* turns out either crunchy or soupy.   We have an automatic rice cooker at home and the stupid thing never turns out brown rice properly.    If there’s a secret to making nice, fluffy brown rice, I don’t know it.

3 Responses to My Rice Cooker Hates Me

  1. Matt says:

    I have the most success with brown rice when I cook it in a skillet. It’s easier to monitor the moisture level that way and adjust how long to cook it. Give it a try sometime!

  2. phaedrus says:

    I use a steamer.

    1 1/4 cup water to 1 cup brown rice mixed with a bit of spice, 52 minutes covered (don’t take cover off if you can help it), let stand for 5 – 10 minutes after cooking.

  3. Bart says:

    Thanks for the comments, guys.

    I have mid-range rice cooker that my wife and I received as a wedding gift, and it seems to cook white rice with no problems, but brown rice is much more tricky. I may end up using a pot or skillet to do it and see how that works.

    FWIW, I found the following link that has a few more ways to go:

    http://www.chowhound.com/topics/304374

Leave a Reply

