Pepsi buckles under pressure

I haven’t written much about bottled water.  My wife buys some ever-so-often to hand out to guests, but for the most part we use the water from our reverse-osmosis filter, which works wonderfully.

I saw an article on CNN today about how Pepsi will now start labeling their Aquafina water with the words ‘Public Water Source.’   Both Aquafina and Coca Cola’s ‘Dasani’ are pulled from public water reservoirs just like the tap water people get for free.   Sure, the bottled products are filtered and purified, but you’re still essentially paying to drink pre-packaged tap water.   And, as some stories have pointed out in the past, there are no guarantees that bottled water is any cleaner than the stuff that comes out of your faucet.

I’ve always been a little leery of bottled water simply because it seems like I’m paying extra to generate a lot of extra waste products (bottles, cardboard flats, plastic wrap, etc.), and this just reinforces that fact.   Since several of the big labels come from a public reservoir, if you have to buy bottled water, why not save some cash and buy the cheapest store brand you can find?  Odds are low people can tell much of a difference in taste…

2 Responses to Pepsi buckles under pressure

  1. Jim says:

    I heard once that the woman who does the “Splendid Table” show on NPR took a bottled water taste test a few years ago. Her favorite was Minneapolis tap water. She had similarly unrefined tastes in other taste tests. I seem to recall she picked some grocery store brand salsa as a favorite out of a group that contained a number of fancy-pants gourmet salsas.

  2. Bart says:

    I drank nothing but tap water while growing up in the Minneapolis suburbs and I seem to have turned out fine. I personally don’t care for the taste of either Dasani or Aquafina… they both taste ‘fake’ in that it’s obvious to me that the water has been manipulated or modified in some form.

    As far as salsa goes, I prefer my own homemade stuff, but otherwise I seem to go for Salsa Lisa or Pace. Pace works well on scrambled eggs for me.

Leave a Reply

