Fiskars Garden Tools 25% Off at Menards

If you don’t have Menards stores in your area, this post is of little interest to you, and I apologize for that.

If you do, the latest ad has the Fiskars spades, shovel and forks on sale until April 15th.  Normal price is around $25 per tool, they’re on sale for $18.88.  These are the new models with the extra-large ‘D’ handles and feature all-steel tubular steel handles that are welded to the blades.  I’ve looked at them several times in the last 6 months or so, and almost bought the garden spade a few weeks back.  They look to be pretty strong, and they’ve gotten good reviews from what I’ve seen.

I’m in the market for a garden spade for sure, and possibly a drainage spade as well.   If I can’t find my spading fork (haven’t seen it since we moved…) I may get another one of those as well, though I’m not sure how useful that tool really is for what I’m looking to do.

Anyway, if you’re in the market for some new spades or shovels and you have Menards in your area, I’d check these out.  It’s a good price for what looks to be some solid tools.   I’ll post a review of the garden spade after I get a chance to dig up the new garden in the back yard.  Since we moved from low 80’s a week and a half ago to mid-20’s with a little snow, I have no idea when that will be.   Isn’t spring in Minnesota wonderful???

12 Responses to Fiskars Garden Tools 25% Off at Menards

  1. Jared says:

    The last three days here have been: 60’s & sunny, overcast & light snow, and (today) mostly sunny with below-freezing temps thanks to gales of wind. I think I can take the studded tires off my bike now … hopefully …

  2. Dan says:

    Thanks for the tip! I almost bought a Fiskars long handle shovel at Lowe’s last weekend, but luckily I didn’t think it would fit in my trunk, so I didn’t buy it. I’m definately heading to Menards this weekend to take advantage of the sale. Their shovels and spades are solidly built and look like they will last a long time. That’s a rare thing nowadays. The only thing I don’t like about the garden spade is the plastic handle is secured to the steel shaft by one small screw and wonder why they don’t make the whole handle steel. IMHO, there’s only one garden spade that tops Fiskars durability, with a price tag to match. Check out the King of Spades I can’t imagine what it would take to break that spade…

    BTW, I purchased some Rogue hoes and a scraper recently based on your recommendation. They are high quality and will probably last a lifetime as well. They have a special going on their ebay store for a hoe package and it was too good to pass us. I plan on give a couple away as birthday gifts for relatives. Thanks for that tip as well.

  3. Bart says:

    Yeah, the plastic D Handle isn’t the greatest… I’m guessing that they chose to make the handle plastic to save both weight and cost…. having a huge D loop of steel back there might unbalance the shovel… not sure. I’m not that concerned about it for the spade, since the only time I’ve wrecked a handle in the past was about 2/3 the way towards the blade when trying to wedge out heavy rocks from heavy, wet soil. The tubular steel handle should be up to most tasks I’ll be asking of it, since it’ll be getting used heavily when the beds are first put in and then sparingly after that. If I were a professional landscaper I might make a different choice.

    Glad you like the Rogue Hoes. I’ve been very happy with the one I purchased last fall, and it will be getting plenty of use in a few weeks when spring returns again.

  4. Rebecca says:

    Hey, the best garden tools are always those with forged workmanship instead of welded. They last much longer and are a lot stronger. They are also more expensive, but the expense is worth it to me!
    -Rebecca

  5. Dan says:

    Rebecca, do you have any suggested brands for forged steel shovels/spades? I am looking at buying them right now and would appreciate any advice.

  6. Bart says:

    Rebecca, thanks for your comment.

    I agree that forged workmanship results in a superior product… no contest there.

    Whether or not that added expense is worth it to someone is a matter of personal opinion I think. In my particular case as a weekend gardener, I’ll probably be using a shovel or spade for a few weekends out of the year in soil that’s pretty much free of any rocks larger than a few inches in diameter.

    With that in mind, I’d have trouble justifying spending two or three times the amount of money for an admittedly much-higher-quality tool. The Fiskars products seem to have the best ‘bang for the buck’ for my particular case.

    I don’t know about anyone else, but my list of things to acquire is long enough that I’d like to stretch my dollars as best I can. Now, if someone can point me to a high-quality forged spade that’s less than $30, I’d look at it.

  7. Bart says:

    Dan,

    Beo from Future is Insight (See Blogroll) thinks that DeWitt tools are awesome… They look great to me for sure, but the price is a limiting factor…

    http://www.earthtoolsbcs.com/html/dw_spades.html

    Here’s a recent post of his regarding his tool… he’s more of a tool snob than I am, though I will admit to owning a nice pair of Felco pruning shears.

    http://onestraw.blogspot.com/2007/03/tools-of-trade.html

  8. Bart says:

    I appear to be spamming my own comments section… how nice.

    Here’s a review of the Fiskars shovels from Mother Earth News, for what it’s worth. They’re not heirloom quality, for sure, but for occasional work I think they’ll do fine.

    http://www.motherearthnews.com/DIY/2004-06-01/The-Worlds-Best-Shovels.aspx

  9. Rebecca says:

    Bart,
    For me personally, I look for things first and foremost that will not be disposable and will be passed down for generations, even if I don’t have the need. That said, I too have monetary limitations. Significant ones, since I’m living on a grad student’s budget. What I did was look around until I found a good sale. A local hardware store was running a good sale and I got a good-quality forged spade and fork for a little over $40, taxes and all. Another thing I recommend is looking for used tools. That’s how I got my shovel. As for brands, I ended up with an ACE spade and fork. They are the best they make, and are both sturdy and easy to use -even for a shrimp like me. They’ve held up well in my very heavy, rocky soil. I’ve even used the fork to help leverage boulders out of holes -which I couldn’t have done with a welded tool. My soil is the other reason I had to have forged tools!
    -Rebecca

  10. Bart says:

    Hi Rebecca,

    I agree that buying anything disposable is a poor idea. Some of the hand tools I have are old run-of-the-mill Sears Craftsman stuff that I’ve inherited from either my grandfather or father and that I intend to hand down to my kids some day.

    I think we’re on the same page… if the Ace brand spade is the one I’m thinking of, that’s a good quality tool as well. The only time I’ve wrecked a shovel was when I snapped the handle on one, so that’s why I’m interested in the tubular steel handle the Fiskars spade has. The welding bead is substantial, so I don’t think I’ll have any issues with it separating from the blade. The longer handles are a plus for me as well, since I’m over 6 feet tall. I’m going to buy one and use it for the summer, and if I have any issues with it, I’ll happily post about it later this year.

    When you originally talked about forged tools, I thought you were referring to the top-shelf hand-forged tools that garden catalogs often advertise. Those tools look wonderful, but I’m not dropping $60-$80 on one spade. At that price point, you’re paying for cachet as well as utility. There are plenty of solid, durable shovels out there; I’ve highlighted one as have you. I’m guessing both would be a good investment.

  11. Pete M says:

    I like the features of some of the Fiskars tools. I just purchased a whole bunch. They longer handles, better steps on the shovel, great large oval handles. They seem to really hold up to everything. Has everyone had the same experience?

  12. Bart says:

    Hello Pete,

    I have a number of Fiskars cutting tools, and they all have worked very wll for me.

    I also bought a garden spade this spring, and it works very well. Not the same quality as the hand-forged tools mentioned above, but for how often I’ll us the shovel it will work fine.

Leave a Reply

