Syriana

Syriana

I hardly ever get out to movies anymore, so I’m usually far behind the curve when it comes to recent releases. We finally got to the top of the wait list for Syriana at the local library and watched the movie over the weekend.  Well, I watched the movie while my lovely bride worked on stamping some greeting cards while occasionally stopping to watch as well.

It was good; confusing, fast-paced, and probably bewildering to folks who are not already well-versed in the issues of oil geopolitics, but overall it was a good film.   It had tangential peak-oil references, and a pretty hard-nosed look at global economics and politics.

My wife was somewhat taken aback by the portrayal of the power elite at work both in the government and big business.  “Do you think that’s really the way we do things?”  she asked.  I told her that while this was a Hollywood movie, it was probably a pretty accurate picture of the Machiavellian decision making that goes on in the halls of power around the world.   Five percent of the world’s population using 25% or so of the world’s energy in a power-constrained world is not a formula for making nice with everyone.

I’m probably one of the last people to have seen this, but if you haven’t checked it out yet, it’s worth two hours of your time.

3 Responses to Syriana

  1. Funny, my wife and I just got around to seeing it this past Friday night. I agree, it’s a pretty good movie. Also had an insightful and unflinching (if somewhat simplistic) look at what fuels religious radicalism and terrorism as political tool.

    One has to wonder whether that will ever really happen to an LNG tanker…

  2. Bart says:

    From what I’ve read, LNG terminals are both very expensive and if it gets hit by terrorists, the results can be spectacularly nasty. This would be why no one seems to want an LNG terminal near their city no matter how desperately they need the NG.

    I agree the part about grooming terrorists was simplistic, but hopefully it got some people thinking about it.

  3. I found it to be an interesting movie. It helped my wife understand the situation a little better.

Leave a Reply

