What’s on My Reading List – Mid November 2006

Checked out some interesting stuff from the Washington County Library system… and I wonder why my wife keeps asking me what new ‘doom & gloom crap’ I’m reading this week…

Not exactly light reading, I guess. I’ll start moving back into the Permaculture and gardening books in my personal collection after the start of the new year, when I need to start thinking about planting season again.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m finding that when I bring titles such as these home it makes my wife and anyone else who sees them very uneasy. I don’t think it’s because they think I’m some kind of sad, pathetic creature who delights in fantasizing about coming chaos. Instead, I think it has more to do with the fact that my family considers me a pretty rational and intelligent person, and if I’m spending lots of my free time reading up on this stuff then there must be something to it, and that threatens their lifestyle, their livelihood, and the personal comfort zone they’ve built up for themselves.

To be honest, that’s a good thing in my opinon, since more and more people will be moving out of their comfort zones whether they like it or not. I’ve learned not to evangelize about energy depletion to the family directly (too many fights, arguments, etc), but by leaving books like these out, I still seem to be getting my message across, especially when it’s combined with my new-found interests in cooking, gardening, biking, etc.

One downside: When I get into a cycle of reading books like these, it gets me into a wierd disconnect/dichotomy of sorts when I put down my book about the end of industrialization at night and then go upstairs to read “Blue’s Clues” to my son at bedtime. “Let’s get into our thinking chair and look at the clues we’ve found: an empty gas can, huge stacks of worthless paper money, and a street full of rioters…”

Leave a Reply

