Season’s Bounty

I’m a neophyte when it comes to canning and whatnot, but I just cranked out the third ever batch of salsa I’ve made. It’s a hit with the family… hints of sweetness and heat, but plenty of pepper, tomatoe and cilantro to be tasted. I hit the farmer’s market on Saturday and was able to pick up everything I needed except for the cilantro, for some strange reason, and paid a fraction of what I would have had to cough up for inferior produce at the grocery store.

I’ve enjoyed enough success with the salsa that my wife has decided to try her hand at making homemade spaghetti sauce and canning it. I encouraged here to do so, since it’s a stealthy way to get the missus more acclimated to the way things may very well be in the future. Plus, it’s just fun to both make the stuff, and reel in the accolades from family members raised on Ragu and other store-bought stuff.

If anyone cares, the salsa recipe I used was modified from one of the ones in the Ball ‘Blue Book’ on canning. Lots of great stuff in a very inexpensive book.

Leave a Reply

